NIGERIAN YAM PORTAGE(YUM YUM)

So been craving yam pottage for the longest time now. I decided to make myself some. Everytime I make yam pottage, I never document the process. However, this time I did because a number of people have been asking for a recipe.

I really liked the outcome of this, so I decided to share.

Recipe

3 tomatoes

1 bell pepper

1 onion

1 scotch bonnet pepper

3 tsps palm oil

half onion sliced

1tsp curry powder

4tbs stock

3 cups cubed yam

1 cube knorr

Method

In a blender, combine tomatoes, onion and pepper. Pulse until smooth.

image

In a clean pot, add in palm oil, sliced onions, thyme and curry. After about two minutes, add in your tomato blend.

image

While your tomato blend boils, slice yam and dice.

Season stew with stock and knorr cubes, then add in your yam and an extra cup of water.

image

Cook yam on low heat, until it is soft

Once yam is cooked, use the back of a wooden spoon to mash some of the yam.

image

Mashing the yam gives you the gooey outcome.

image

image

I had my yam pottage with some fish sauce.

Thanks for reading, let me know when and if you try this out.

8 thoughts on “NIGERIAN YAM PORTAGE(YUM YUM)

Leave a Reply

